a superb christmas break

New York City was fantabulous (admit I never left Manhattan..). After a few days, my dearest cousin Rakel arrived and we checked in to the (not so very charming) YMCA just west of Central Park. As Rakel said: "It smells like Russia all over the place". The lobby was very fancy though.

We did some sightseeing - Empire State Building, some Central Park walking and several areas of downtown Manhattan, and we also managed to get the very last two (FREE) stand-by tickets to David Letterman. Sweet!
We did some necessary shopping, went to Guggenheim Museum of art, and had dinner at restaurants of all sorts. Worst was probably the Chinese "Special Platter" of vomit and rise (or so it looked), and best must've been the great French Bistro Saju. Great service, great olives, great waiters, and a lot of laughs.

Coming back to Atlanta went smoothly. Me and Rakel have shared Kennedy's (my) room. Daytime we have went to Tanger Outlet Mall, to Atlanta's High Museum of Art, Little 5 points, World of Coke, Georgia Aquarium, Underground, Hard Rock Café and Vortex. All the must-do's for a shorttime visitor.

SNOW has attacked, and I am not joking. The northern parts of Georgia has been hit by sleet and snow and the world has totally stopped. Hardly anyone is going to work/church/school, and driving is taking a serious risk, since the roads are covered with pure ice, snow and sleet (not much, but an inch or two). When David and I had to drive Rakel to the airport yesterday it took us the double time, and I saw at least 60 cars wrecked or left in the ditches by the roads, and there were several traffic jams, causing people (and us) to turn around and go the opposite direction on the road up nearest "exit" to find quicker tracks.
My school is closed. That therefore gives me a few more days to order school supply - I was totally unprepared for school to start so suddenly and hadn't looked up a single syllabus or book-list.
Turned out I only need to by one or two for this semester. (I googled the book To Be Determined for quite some time, until I realized the professor for that class hasn't yet determined what book to use.. true story, I'm a fool).

This semester is going to be crammed with trips, gatherings, plans, guests and probably a homework or two. I will be staying busy, and I am certain time is going to fly by. So sad. I love it here.
I have experienced so much fun stuff, and extreme heat, extreme cold and extremely wonderful people - Americans and foreigners, young and old. I am being so well taken care of, I am almost embarrased.

Later today the gym is to be surprised; I am going. It will be my first visit since late November, and I am prepared for a physical shock. Thanksgiving, Christmas and New Years have had their saying now, and the New Life is to begin - again, haha.

[f] Georgia on my mind (for reals)




Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress:

URL:

Kommentar:

Trackback